The 4 Core Emotion System

Lift Emotion’s machine learning model uses the 4 Core Emotion System (4CES) to quantify emotion in natural language processing.

4 Core Emotion System (4CES)

The Basics

4 Core Emotion System (4CES)

Weighing "Feelings" with Words

4 Core Emotion System

Granularity of Emotions

How It Works

The 4 Core Emotion System  (4CES) labels feelings using four uniquely expressed core emotions, which are also globally accepted as general states of being. These core expressions of emotion are joy, fear, sadness and anger. 4CES blends the expressed emotion in natural language by related biological changes and states of thought. This simplifies and empowers emotional intelligence on a global scale and aligns with modern digital communication.


a feeling of great pleasure and happiness


an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.


feeling or showing sorrow; unhappy


a strong feeling of annoyance, displeasure, or hostility.